Roger Waters and Colette Barber to be honoured at APRS lunch

Tickets still available for annual celebration of studio talent
Publish date:
maggie and group copy

Tickets are still available forthe 8th annual APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch, to be held at the Roof Gardens, Kensington, this Tuesday 18 November.

The APRS’s annual celebration, hosted by Sir George and Lady Martin, sees the recognition of six new recipients of the APRS Sound Fellowship bestowed on individuals who made a significant contribution to the art, science or business of sound recording'. Among the inductees are Colette Barber, Abbey Road Studios manager, the second woman to be recognised by the fellowship. (AIR-Edel's Maggie Rodford, pictured with friends and family, was inducted in 2012.)

This year the association is recognising:

  • Colette Barber (“Studio Empress of London”)
  • Mutt Lange (British record producer and songwriter
  • Jim MarshallOBE (Master of ‘Loud’, Marshall amps and speakers designer)
  • Al Schmitt (US recording engineer, producer, mixer)
  • Roger Waters (Singer, songwriter, composer, co-founder of Pink Floyd)
  • Lamont Dozier (Motown writer/producer)

Tom Robinson, BBC 6 Music presenter and singer/songwriter, has been invited to give the ‘keynote’ address by way of proposing the 'Harewood Toast', which will reflect on the studio business and associated matters.

To end the lunch, Ed Bicknell, the former Dire Straits manager, will give the President’s Toast’ to recognise the “past, present and future of the APRS”, while also recounting an anecdote or two of his time in the industry.

Tickets for the occasion can be booked at or email or phone APRS Head Office on 01803 868600.



APRS to honour Boyd, Ludwig, Thomas

Producers Joe Boyd and Chris Thomas are among the distinguished figures to receive APRS Sound Fellowships at this year’s lunch, which will feature a toast from Music Publishers' Association CEO Stephen Navin.