Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


MPG rethinks Best Studio Award voting

The Music Producers Guild has announced changes to the voting procedure for its Studio of the Year Award. Meanwhile, voting for all 2011 categories - including UK Producer of the Year, won in 2011 by Markus Dravis - continues apace.

The Music Producers Guild has announced changes to the voting procedure for its Studio of the Year Award. The amendments – which are introduced with immediate effect – apply to all Studio of the Year nominations for the 2012 Awards.

In previous years, the Award for Studio of the Year was decided by the MPG’s judging panel, which chose the winner from a shortlist drawn up to reflect votes cast by full members of the MPG. Studios on the shortlist were asked to support their nomination with a presentation to the judges in which they highlighted their unique selling points and explained why they felt they deserved the award.

However, after reflecting on this process, the MPG feels that relying purely on a presentation is not the best way to decide the award and that it is better to allow those who actually use studios on a daily basis to make the decision.

The new procedure will enable all full members of MPG to cast their vote for Studio of the Year. These votes will then be counted, with the Award going to the studio that gathers the most votes.

Nominations for the 2012 MPG Awards are closed and voting for all categories is now open (including UK Producer of the Year, the 2011 recipient of which was Markus Dravs, pictured). Voting for Studio of the Year will remain open until 8 January. The final judging will take place in January and the winners of each category will be announced at the Awards ceremony in February.

Steve Levine, chairman of MPG, commented: “In many ways this is a far simpler process as it will rely solely on counting votes from working producers. They are the best people to judge just how good a studio is and to allocate the award accordingly. We felt that adjusting the voting procedure for this award is necessary as it will make the process easier for the studios.

“Having a full member category is vital to the success of our awards because it ensures that our voting procedures are seen to be fair and transparent. Full members are all professionals who understand the recording process and are therefore qualified to make accurate and informed decisions.”

Anyone wishing to apply for MPG Full Membership can do so via the website (link below). The subscription fee for Full Membership is £120 per year, while Associate members who qualify for Full Membership can upgrade their subscription at a reduced rate.

Sponsorship opportunities are still available for the MPG 2012 Awards. Any company that would like to be part of this event should contact Sadie Groom at Bubble & Squeak; telephone: +44 (0) 207 287 4262; email: sadie (a)