Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


MPG announces 2013 Awards shortlist

XFM DJ and champion of new music John Kennedy announced the shortlist for the 2013 MPG Awards at the soon-to-open ME Hotel in London, yesterday.

Albums by Florence & The Machine, The Maccabees, Alt-J, Ed Sheeran and Paloma Faith delivered nominations for UK producers Paul Epworth, Bruno Ellingham & Tim Goldsworthy, Charlie Andrew and Jake Gosling, while in the international categories, The Black Keys and Jack White delivered multiple nominations for their producers and engineers. Now in its fifth year, the Music Producers Guild Awards recognises the essential contribution made by recording professionals to the success of the UK’s music industry. The winner of the Music Producers Guild’s Producer of the Year Award also receives a BRIT Award for Best Producer, and both awards will be presented at the Music Producers Guild’s Awards ceremony, which takes place once again on February 7 2013 at the Café de Paris in London. This year, the night will be hosted by 6Music’s Lauren Laverne. Introducing John Kennedy (pictured) at the presentation at the Broadcast Bar on the 10th floor of the hotel (formerly the Marconi building, and the site of the original BBC 2LO radio transmitter), MPG Awards committee head Tony Platt revealed that this year’s event had attracted three times the number of nominations of previous years. He reported that XFM will broadcast a series of features in Kennedy’s shows over the course of one week in February, focusing on a different shortlisted producer. Platt also disclosed that Platt Sir George Martin will reveice the PPL Outstanding Contribution to UK music honour at the Awards, which also marks the 50th anniversary to the day when the Beatles’ single Please, Please Me was released in the USA. Producers Jake Gosling and Charlie Andrew, plus Infectious Records’ Korda Marshall, Funky Junk’s Mark Thompson, mastering engineer (and former winner) Mandy Parnell, recording engineer Guy Massey and The Movement’s Sarah Liversedge were all present at the lunchtime presentation to hear themselves nominated. The shortlists for each category (in no particular order) are as follows: ·UK Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BRITS 2013: Damon Albarn Paul Epworth Jake Gosling ·Recording Engineer of the Year: Haydn Bendall Guy Massey Al O’Connell ·Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic: Tom Elmhirst Alan Moulder Mark ‘Spike’ Stent ·Mastering Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Radial: Matt Colton Mandy Parnell Ray Staff ·Live Production of the Year, sponsored by Shure: Adele Live at the Royal Albert Hall 2011 Bon Iver at Air Studios The Olympics – Opening Ceremony ·UK Album of the Year: Paloma Faith – Fall To Grace Florence & The Machine – Ceremonials Ed Sheeran – + ·UK Single Song Release of the Year: Paloma Faith – Picking Up the Pieces Plan B – Ill Manors The Maccabees – Pelican Ed Sheeran – Lego House ·Re-mixer of the Year, sponsored by Novation: Mathew Herbert UNKLE Jamie xx ·Breakthrough Producer of the Year, in association with Sound on Sound, sponsored Focusrite: Charlie Andrew Bruno Ellingham and Tim Goldsworthy Jake Gosling ·Breakthrough Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Genelec: Dan Austin Charlie Hugall Lee Slater ·International Producer of the Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios: Danger Mouse (Brian Burton) Max Martin Jack White ·International Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by KMR Audio: Tchad Blake Vance Powell Dave Sardy ·Studio of the Year, sponsored by Pro Sound News Europe: Black Wookie Studios RAK Studios Snap! Studios Sphere Studios ·The A&R Award: Darcus Beese (Universal Island) Korda Marshall (Infectious Music) Richard Russell (XL Recordings) ·The Unsung Hero Award: Mark Thompson (Funky Junk/Snap Studios) Sarah Liversedge (The Movement/BDI) Rebecca de la Porta & Paul Walmsley (Polydor/Fiction)