Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


APRS announces 2012 Sound Fellows

David Gilmour and Pete Townshend are among the recipients to be honoured on 20 November. AIM CEO Alison Wenham will give the special Harewood Toast, while the President's Toast will be delivered by record producer Joe Boyd.

The 6th annual APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch, hosted by Sir George and Lady Martin, will be held at the Roof Gardens, Kensington on Tuesday, 20 November. This year’s six Fellowship recipients are: John Borwick: editor of Sound Recording Practice and founder of Surrey University’s Tonmeister course; David Gilmour: Pink Floyd guitarist, vocalist and writer, owner of Astoria studio; 
Bruce Swedien
: engineer and mixer for Michael Jackson among others
Pete Townshend: rock guitarist and songwriter with The Who, author, founder of HEAR;
Maggie Rodford: film soundtrack producer, owner Air Edel, multi award winner
Eddie Veale: leading UK acoustic and studio designer and a passionate educator. Alison Wenham (pictured), CEO of the Association of Independent Music (AIM), has been invited to give the keynote address by way of proposing the special ‘Harewood Toast; ’ introduced to provide an opportunity for a prominent member of the music, film and TV businesses to speak about the relationship they have with the studios and service providers that make their products.

Respected record producer Joe Boyd (Pink Floyd, Nick Drake) has also been confirmed to give the President’s Toast at the awards luncheon. A special tribute will be paid to Keith Grant, APRS Fellow, who died earlier this year, given by David Hamilton-Smith. The event will also take the opportunity to remember a number of key industry people who stood out in the Academy’s voting. For this first time this year, the event will be recorded and edited on HD film by James Cumpsty, made possible by the support of APRS member HHB Communications. Tickets for the lunch can be booked via the APRS or by phoning the APRS head office on +44 (0)18 0386 8600. Special discounts are available for APRS and other trade body members.