Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


The Music Producers Guild announces its 2014 Awards shortlist

Former winners Ethan Johns and Paul Epworth are back on the shortlist for the MPG 2014 Producer of the Year award, it was revealed yesterday.

Former winners Ethan Johns and Paul Epworth are back on the shortlist for the MPG 2014 Producer of the Year award, it was revealed yesterday. Epworth bagged the award in 2010 and again in 2013, while Ethan Johns was victorious in 2012. Other names vying for one of 12 trophies on 13 February 2014 will include Disclosure, Rick Rubin, Tony Visconti and Daft Punk.

Broadcaster John Kennedy (pictured, right) of XFM revealed the category shortlists ahead of the MPG Christmas party at the Alley Cat Club in London’s famous Denmark Street (‘Tin Pan Alley’) last night. Now in its sixth year, the Music Producers Guild Awards recognises the contribution made by recording professionals to the success of the UK’s music industry. The winner of the Producer of the Year Award also receives a BRIT Award for Best Producer. (The BRITs are being held on 19 Feb 2014 at the O2 Arena.) This year the ceremony moves to the Park Plaza Riverbank Hotel in London. “We loved being at the Café de Paris but it was no longer a big enough home for us,” said MPG’s Tony Platt (pictured, left), adding that this year’s host will be comedian and musician Rich Hall. He went on to thank partner and award sponsors for their support. MPG Chairman Steve Levine added later: “An MPG Award is highly sought-after by recording professionals because it represents an endorsement by your peers. Whilst anyone can nominate, only full members of the MPG are allowed to vote for the shortlist and therefore the results are relevant to the creative value of our industry. Those who win an MPG Award are known to be at the top of their game as a recording professional.” The MPG Awards always supports a nominated charity, and this year it is the Victoria Foundation, which exists ‘to provide life-enhancing medical assistance’. The shortlists for each of the MPG 2014 Awards categories (in no particular order) are: UK Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BRITS 2014: Paul Epworth Flood (Mark Ellis) & Alan Moulder Ethan Johns International Producer of the Year, sponsored by Beats by Dr Dre: Daft Punk (Thomas Bangalter, Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo) Rick Rubin Tony Visconti Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Rode: Catherine Marks Guy Massey Mark Rankin Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic:Tom Elmhirst Flood (Mark Ellis) & Alan Moulder Mark ‘Spike’ Stent Mastering Engineer of the Year: John Dent Barry Grint Mandy Parnell Breakthrough Producer of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite/Novation: Dan Smith & Mark Crew Disclosure (Guy Lawrence, Howard Lawrence) Duncan Mills Breakthrough Engineer of the Year: Dan Cox Catherine Marks Matt Wiggins Re-mixer of the Year: Freemasons (Russell Smith & James Wiltshire) Four Tet (Kieran Hebden) MJ Cole (Matthew Coleman) UK Album of the Year, sponsored by Universal Audio: James Blake – Overgrown Foals – Holy Fire Laura Marling – Once I was An Eagle UK Single Song Release of the Year, sponsored by Shure: Adele – Skyfall Everything Everything – Kemosabe Foals – My Number Studio of the Year, sponsored by KMR Audio: British Grove Studios RAK Studios Strongroom Studios The A&R Award: Chris Briggs Imran Ahmed Jim Chancellor The winners of the Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award, sponsored by PPL, the MPG Innovation Award, sponsored by Genelec and the MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by UK Music, will be announced at the Awards ceremony in February.

Photo: Grace Lightman