PSAwards 2016 – shortlists announced!

Find out who is in the running
Publish date:

Entries have been sifted and the shortlists have been compiled for the Pro Sound Awards 2016! Our independent team of judges will now choose a winner for each category.

The Awards night, featuring Tannoy as the headline sponsor, is being held at the world-famous Ministry of Sound nightclub in London on Thursday 22 September. Tickets for the events are on sale now for £55. (Lifetime Achievement and Grand Prix awards will be announced next week. More details on the Rising Star Award are also forthcoming.)

Here then are the shortlists for each category:


Engineer of the Year (OTY)

  • Jose Rivera/Marc Anthony/Meyer Sound
  • Gary Bradshaw/ELO
  • Dave Bracey/Adele/BlackBox Music
  • Gavin McComb/Junun/Allen & Heath

Tour Sound

  • London Speaker Hire/Eli Saunder-Deutsch, OnBlackheath
  • SSE/Reading Festival
  • Avid/S6L/A-ha/Gerard Albo
  • Adlib/Florence & the Machine

Theatre Sound

  • Digby Shaw
  • Funktion-One/Once at Olympia Theatre
  • Greg Clarke/EM Acoustics/Color Purple Broadway
  • Mick Potter/School of Rock/Meyer Sound

STUDIO (sponsored by Focusrite)

Engineer OTY

  • Danny Evans for Guy Garvey
  • Nigel Godrich/Sam Petts-Davies for Radiohead
  • Jake Jackson (Nick Cave, Divine Comedy)
  • Wes Maebe (various)

Best Studio

  • Snap
  • Edge/John Delf
  • Brighton Electric
  • Angels Wings (Italy)

Best Post Sound

  • WB De Lane Lea/vars projects
  • Sound24/Everest/Avid
  • Meyer Sound/Rotor Sound Germany
  • Envy: Saving Lives at Sea


Best Permanent Install Project

  • SSE/Shrek Adventure
  • Funktion-One/Lux Fragil
  • Meyer Sound/Sala Energia Milan
  • Parc Olympic Lyonaise/Powersoft

Best Temporary Install Project

  • SSE/London Palladium
  • Gatwick Skybridge/Merging/Delta
  • NYC Audio-Technica Jungle-ized
  • UK Milano Expo/Meyer Sound

Team of the Year

  • Martin Audio for CDD success
  • Meyer Sound/projects worldwide
  • Shure projects
  • IPE/Veale for Tate Starr cinema


Best Facility

  • WB De Lane Lea
  • Enoshmik Tech
  • Goldcrest Post-Production
  • dock 10/MediaCity

Broadcast Event

  • Rugby World Cup
  • BBC Proms coverage (2015)
  • Eurovision/Riedel
  • European Championships/Lawo

Team of the Year

  • Toby Alington/EMA MTV
  • Al Jazeera Sound Team
  • VSS/Britain's Got Talent team
  • BBC Springwatch/Autumnwatch team


Marketing Initiative 

  • Powersoft DEVA
  • Audio-Technica Jungle-ized
  • Calrec Audio Periodic Table
  • HK Audio Soundmakers