Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


PRO SOUND AWARDS 2014: The finalists

All the category finalists, right here!

It gives us great pleasure to present to you the category finalists for the second Pro Sound Awards!

The editors from across the Intent Media titles (PSNEurope, Installation, Audio Pro International, TVBEurope and Audio Media) whittled down all the entries to what they consider to be the four most worthy finalists for each award. Now we let our independent panel of experts pick the winners…

The Pro Sound Awards 2014 recognise outstanding achievement in professional audio, and take place on 25 September at the world-famous Ministry of Sound nightclub in London. We’ll be profiling the finalists individually in more detail in forthcoming issues of PSNEurope. In the meantime, here are their names – and stay tuned for the winners of the prestigious Grand Prix, Lifetime Achievement and Rising Star, to be revealed at a later date!


Engineer of the Year

  • Reay Grant
  • Dave Kay
  • Sam Proctor
  • Jonny Lucas

Best Tour Sound Production

  • London Speaker Hire for the Connections by Le Book event
  • SSE for Avicii’s European tour
  • Capital Sound for British Summer Time, Hyde Park
  • Adlib for Jack Whitehall Gets Around arena tour

Best Theatre Sound

  • Chris Mace for I Can’t Sing
  • SSE for Jesus Christ Superstar
  • Clive Goodwin for Once
  • National Theatre sound department for The Light Princess


Engineer of the Year

  • James Ford
  • Andrew Dudman
  • Dan Cox
  • Mike Crossey

Best Recording Production

  • Arcade Fire – Reflektor
  • The 1975 – The 1975
  • John Newman – Love Me Again (single)
  • Paloma Faith – A Perfect Contradiction

Best Studio

  • Assault and Battery (Miloco)
  • Snap Studios
  • Metropolis
  • Astar Studios

Best Sound in Post-Production

  • Gravity
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past
  • Under the Skin
  • Noah


Best Permanent Installation Project

  • Funktion One for Electric Paris
  • EM Acoustics/Sound by Design for the Royal Albert Hall
  • Powersoft for Wall of Bass, Austria
  • Stouenborg/Meyer Sound for Jyske Bank, Copenhagen

Best Temporary Installation Project

  • PreSonus at the Phoenix Open Hole
  • Paul Arditti/Autograph for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • Source Distribution/Genelec for the Cock ’n’ Bull Gallery
  • Powersoft/Soundart for Dortmund Supercross

Team of the Year

  • SSE Audio Group
  • Sound by Design (for the Royal Albert Hall)
  • DJW Install (for HMS Alliance)
  • TG Baker (for London Waterloo station)


Best Facility

  • dock 10, MediaCityUK
  • Savalas, Glasgow
  • Pinewood Studios
  • The Farm

Broadcast Event of the Year

  • 2014 Winter Paralympics (Channel 4)
  • Red Bull Revolutions in Sound (Delta Sound/SIS Live)
  • Unity – A Concert for Stephen Lawrence (Red TX)
  • War Horse live (Mixbus)

Team of the Year

  • United Audio Project (Rowan Jennings and Karl Mainzer)
  • The X Factor (led by sound director Robert Edwards)
  • BBC Proms
  • MasterChef series 10


  • Idea: brand launch
  • Prism Sound: Mic to Monitor
  • Shure: Call for Legends
  • Powersoft: X Series launch

Have you got your ticket yet?