New president sought for AVnu Alliance as L-Acoustics signs up

Departure of Harman man leaves lead roles open
Publish date:

The AVnu Alliance is preparing to elect a new president and marketing workgroup (MWG) chair following the departure of Rick Kreifeldt from both of the roles last month.

Kreifeldt is reported to have left founding Alliance member Harman in January after 20 years’ service – and therefore, under AVnu’s rules, he can no longer serve in any position with the organisation.

Andy Gothard, spokesman for AVnu at the ISE show in Amsterdam, confirmed that Greg Schlechter of Intel is now serving as pro-tem AVnu MWG chair; Yong Kim, senior director, CTO office, networking for Broadcom, is filling the presidential role until elections are complete. This will be conducted by the membership “in due course”, said Gothard (pictured).

Founded in 2009, the AVnu Alliance is a consortium of electronics companies collaborating to establish and certify the interoperability of emerging Audio Video Bridging (AVB) standards. At ISE 2015, it was revealed that French loudspeaker giant L-Acoustics has signed up as the Alliance's 85th member.

(with thanks to David Davies)


Conference on Time Sensitive Networking and Applications

A new dawn for AVnu?

Despite some enduring perception problems, AVB still has an exciting potential future in pro-audio networking, incoming AVnu Alliance president Gary Stuebing tells David Davies