Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


MPG Awards 2015 nominations open on 1 Sept

The Music Producers Guild has announced that the nomination process for the 2015 MPG Awards ceremony will officially open on 1 September 2014.

The annual event that recognises the achievements of the UK’s top producers, engineers, remixers and mastering engineers will take place on 12 February 2015 at the Park Plaza Hotel in Vauxhall.

The MPG chairman, Steve Levine, says: “What really make the MPG Awards special are the people we celebrate. These are recording professionals who make a massive contribution to the success of the UK music industry but don’t always get their names in lights.”

Levine revealed that there will be another exclusive performance from a ‘surprise’ band at the 2015 awards. The 2014 awards included a live performance from Trevor Horn’s band The Producers, which also featured a guest appearance from Seal.

The MPG Awards is now entering its seventh year. Previous award winners include the likes of Alan Moulder & Flood, Paul Epworth, Brian Eno, Trevor Horn and Sir George Martin CBE.

The MPG Awards comprise 15 different categories including UK Producer of the Year, the winner of which automatically wins a Brit Award for Best Producer.

The online nominations process runs until 30 September 2014. Public nominations for 12 of the Award categories can be made online via The winners of the remaining three categories, the MPG Innovation Award, the MPG Inspiration Award and Outstanding Contribution to UK Music, are chosen by MPG.

MPG offer an ‘early-bird’ discount and encourage those who wish to attend the awards to buy their tickets early as they will sell out quickly.

In other MPG news, the guild reported a positive turnout of producers, engineers and studio owners to their first MPG Speakeasy event hosted at the Attix Bar, Bristol. The company intend to start hosting regular MPG events in Bristol in the future.

By Harry Powell

Main picture: Alan Moulder and Flood at the 2014 MPG Awards (photo: John Marshall)