Festival Awards Europe voting reaches final stage

Voting for the next edition of the Festival Awards Europe is due to conclude on Wednesday (8 December). A total of nine categories will be determined by the public vote, with an expert panel judging several others.
Publish date:
Updated on

Voting for the next edition of the Festival Awards Europe is due to conclude on Wednesday (8 December). A total of nine categories will be determined by the public vote, with an expert panel judging several others.

Voting for the public categories is open at http://eu.festivalawards.com, with the shortlists as follows:

Best Major European Festival: Heineken Open’er Festival – Poland, Oxegen Festival - Ireland, Hurricane Festival – Germany, Pukkelpop – Belgium, Roskilde Festival – Denmark, EXIT Festival – Serbia, Sonisphere Festival – Turkey, Wacken Open Air – Germany, Sziget Festival – Hungary, Rock Werchter – Belgium.

Best Medium-Sized European Festival: Area 4 Festival – Germany, Coke Live Music Festival – Poland, Couleur Cafe Festival – Belgium, Dour Festival – Belgium, Electric Picnic Music & Arts Festival – Ireland, Lokerse Feesten – Belgium, Melt! Festival – Germany, OFF Festival – Poland, Øyafestivalen – Norway, Pohoda festival – Slovakia.

Best Small European Festival: 5 Tauron Nowa Muzyka Festival – Poland, Boogie Brain International Music Festival – Poland, Castlepalooza Music & Arts Festival – Ireland, Absolutely Free Festival – Belgium, Indiependence festival – Ireland, LB27 Reggae Camp – Hungary, Leffingeleuren – Belgium, Reeds Festival – Switzerland, Trænafestivalen – Norway, Zeverrock Festival – Belgium.

Best New European Festival: Daydream Festival – Belgium, E-tropolis Festival – Germany, Once upon a Festival – Belgium, Sonisphere Festival - Czech Republic, Sonisphere Festival – Poland, Sonisphere Festival – Turkey, Stop Making Sense – Croatia, Temple House Festival – Ireland, The Big Snow Festival – Andorra, Zita Rock Festival – Germany.

Best Indoor Festival: Amsterdam Dance Event – Netherlands, Blues In Hell – Norway, Eurosonic Noorderslag – Netherlands, I Love Techno – Belgium, Le Printemps de Bourges – France, Montreux Jazz Festival – Switzerland, Reeperbahn Festival – Germany, Rolling Stone Weekender – Germany, Sensation – Poland, Springfestival – Austria.

Best European Festival Line-Up: Bestival – UK, Gurten Festival – Switzerland, Haldern Pop – Germany, Melt! Festival – Germany, Open Air St Gallen – Switzerland, Oxegen – Ireland, Rock Am Ring – Germany, Rock Werchter – Belgium, Roskilde – Denmark, Snowbombing – Austria.

Best Newcomer: Die Antwoord, Florence and the Machine, Jamaica, Mumford & Sons, The Gaslight Anthem, The XX, Two Doors Cinema Club, Villagers, White Lies, Yeasayer.

Best Headliner: AC/DC, Arcade Fire, Gorillaz, Jay Z, Muse, Pearl Jam, Prince, Rammstein, Robyn, Stevie Wonder.

Festival Anthem of the Year: Biffy Clyro – ‘Many of Horror’, Editors – ‘No Sound But The Wind’, Florence and the Machine – ‘You Got The Love’, Jay-Z – ‘Empire State of Mind’, Kasabian – ‘Underdog’, LCD Soundsystem – ‘Drunk Girls’, Mumford & Sons – ‘Little Lion Man’, Muse – ‘Uprising’,
Robyn – ‘Dancing On My Own’, Yeasayer – ‘One’.

The Awards decided by industry jury are: YOUROPE Green ‘N’ Clean Festival Of The Year, Artist’s Favourite European Festival, Promoter of the Year and Yourope Lifetime Achievement Award.

The winners of all the Awards will be presented with their trophies during a ceremony to be presented by YOUROPE and Virtual Festivals Europe on 12 January 2011 at Groningen’s Stadsschouwburg in The Netherlands, on the opening night of the 25th Anniversary edition of Eurosonic Noorderslag.

Virtual Festivals founder Steve Jenner commented: “The European festival scene has never been more exciting with new territories springing up on the map and more established markets undergoing rapid maturation. It all bodes for a thrilling Festival Awards and another great celebration in Groningen.”




Voting open for 2014 MPG Awards

Voting for the 2014 Music Producers Guild Awards is now open. All Full Members of the Guild are entitled to take part in this process and their votes will decide which nominees make the shortlist in 12 of the 15 award categories.

European Festival Awards shortlist announced

UK: The final set of winners will be determined primarily by a public vote, reports David Davies. The shortlists in the Best Major, Medium Sized, Small and New Festival categories were shaped by 30,000-plus music fans, while a panel of industry experts - including Music Week's Christopher Barrett and IQ editor/occasional PSNE contributor Greg Parmley - produced the roll-calls for Best European Festival Line-Up, Best Artist Newcomer, Best Headline Artist and Anthem of the Year.


MPG rethinks Best Studio Award voting

The Music Producers Guild has announced changes to the voting procedure for its Studio of the Year Award. Meanwhile, voting for all 2011 categories - including UK Producer of the Year, won in 2011 by Markus Dravis - continues apace.


Vote for your Unsung Hero now!

Pro Sound News Europe is sponsoring the MPG Awards' Unsung Hero category, described by MPG chairman Steve Levine (pictured) as "a fantastic way of honouring those people who work tirelessly for our industry but don’t necessarily get the recognition they deserve".