APRS to honour Boyd, Ludwig, Thomas

Producers Joe Boyd and Chris Thomas are among the distinguished figures to receive APRS Sound Fellowships at this year’s lunch, which will feature a toast from Music Publishers' Association CEO Stephen Navin.
Publish date:

Producers Joe Boyd and Chris Thomas and mastering legend Bob Ludwig are among the distinguished figures to receive APRS Sound Fellowships at this year’s association lunch.

To be hosted by Sir George and Lady Martin, the 5th annual APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch will be held at the Roof Gardens, Kensington, on 22 November. The keynote Harewood Toast will be given by Stephen Navin, CEO of Music Publishers’ Association, who follows in the footsteps of inaugural Harewood Toast-er, Jeremy Lascelles – the son of the late Earl of Harewood, the founding president of the APRS.

As in previous years, the APRS event will recognise another group of individuals from the recording industry who are deemed to have made a ‘significant contribution to the art, science or business of sound recording.’

This year, the Association is recognising: celebrated mastering engineer Bob Ludwig, who runs Portland, Maine-based Gateway Mastering and has worked on albums by artists including AC/DC, Jimi Hendrix, David Bowie, The Who and many others; Joe Boyd, who became a leading figure in the British folk-rock scene through his creation of Witchseason Productions and subsequently went on to produce artists including Richard Thompson and REM; audio technology developer Clive Green, who has worked on groundbreaking mixing consoles from AMS/Neve and Cadac; Ruper Hine, a songwriter and producer who has worked with artists including Kevin Ayers and Tina Turner, as well as recording numerous solo projects; Jimmy Page, guitarist and co-founder of Led Zeppelin, whose extra-curricular activities include collaborations with David Coverdale and the Black Crowes; and Chris Thomas, whose formidable resume includes production work for Pink Floyd, Sex Pistols, Paul McCartney and Pulp.

Tickets for the APRS Sound Fellowship Lunch can be booked online (website link below) or by phoning the APRS Head Office: 01803 868600. Special discounts are available for APRS and other trade body members.



APRS to honour Alan Parsons and Glyn Johns at 60th anniversary lunch

UK: The APRS (Association of Professional Recording Services) has announced that it is to honour a number of renowned individuals with Sound Fellowships in recognition of their contributions to "the art, science and industry of sound recording". Island Records founder Chris Blackwell and producer/engineer/performer Alan Parsons will be among the distinguished figures honoured at the APRS' 60th anniversary lunch this Thursday (September 27th), writes David Davies.


APRS announces 2012 Sound Fellows

David Gilmour and Pete Townshend are among the recipients to be honoured on 20 November. AIM CEO Alison Wenham will give the special Harewood Toast, while the President's Toast will be delivered by record producer Joe Boyd.


APR hits the road with iLive

Rental company APR Audio employed several combinations of Allen & Heath’s iLive digital mixing system throughout its recent summer events calendar, which included work at Glastonbury and Hop Farm (pictured).

Dudderidge, Gabriel, Horn to receive APRS Sound Fellowships

UK: Meanwhile, Chrysalis Music CEO Jeremy Lascelles (pictured) is to be the first Harewood Toast 'proposer' at the annual APRS Sound Fellowship Lunch. A fixture of the UK music industry since the early '70s, Lascelles is the son of the Earl of Harewood, the founding president of the APRS and its current patron.