APRS announces the 2013 Sound Fellowship recipients

Six new recipients of the APRS Sound Fellowship will be bestowed on individuals who made a ‘significant contribution to the art, science or business of sound recording.’ Fran Nevrkla has been invited to give the special Harewood Toast.
Publish date:
Updated on

The 7th annual APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch is to be held at the Roof Gardens, Kensington on Tuesday 19 November. The APRS’s annual celebration, hosted by Sir George and Lady Martin, sees the recognition of six new recipients of the APRS Sound Fellowship bestowed on individuals who made a ‘significant contribution to the art, science or business of sound recording.’ This year the association is recognising: Jeff Beck: British multi-genre guitarist and songwriter. Jerry Boys: Chief engineer, studio manager, mixer, recording engineer, past co-owner of Livingston Studios, multiple Grammy winner. Chris Briggs: Top A&R man for EMI and Chrysalis. Mark Crabtree: Outstanding contribution to console manufacture. Founder of AMS Neve. Adrian Kerridge: Engineer, owner of Lansdowne and CTS Studios, past APRS Chairman. Phil Ramone (Dcd): Musical prodigy, recording engineer, producer. Nile Rodgers: Producer, composer, arranger, guitarist. Fran Nevrkla (pictured) OBE, Chairman - PPL, has been invited to give the ‘keynote’ address by way of proposing the special Harewood Toast. The Harewood Toast was introduced to provide an opportunity for a prominent member of the music, film and TV businesses to speak about the relationship they have with the studios and service providers that make their products. Tickets for the Lunch can be booked online from 7 October on the APRS website or via email: admin@aprs.co.uk or phone APRS Head Office on +44 (0)1803 868600. Special discounts are available for APRS and other trade body members. For the third year running, RØDE are supporting the event as Platinum sponsors, API are coming on board for a second year, and Universal Audio are joining the group of Platinum sponsors for the first time. Focusrite have continued their support of the Lunch for the seventh year running, taking up the very popular spot of Wine sponsor, completing the guests’ fine dining experience. www.aprs.co.uk



APRS announces 2012 Sound Fellows

David Gilmour and Pete Townshend are among the recipients to be honoured on 20 November. AIM CEO Alison Wenham will give the special Harewood Toast, while the President's Toast will be delivered by record producer Joe Boyd.

Dudderidge, Gabriel, Horn to receive APRS Sound Fellowships

UK: Meanwhile, Chrysalis Music CEO Jeremy Lascelles (pictured) is to be the first Harewood Toast 'proposer' at the annual APRS Sound Fellowship Lunch. A fixture of the UK music industry since the early '70s, Lascelles is the son of the Earl of Harewood, the founding president of the APRS and its current patron.

APRS prepares for 2008 Sound Fellowships

UK: The APRS Sound Fellowships will be announced at the organisation's Annual Lunch in November, writes David Davies. Focusrite is one of the main sponsors of the Association of Professional Recording Services event, which will feature a special guest speaker in the form of legendary former Yes keyboardist, solo artist and Grumpy Old Man TV regular Rick Wakeman (pictured).


APRS to honour Boyd, Ludwig, Thomas

Producers Joe Boyd and Chris Thomas are among the distinguished figures to receive APRS Sound Fellowships at this year’s lunch, which will feature a toast from Music Publishers' Association CEO Stephen Navin.

APRS to honour Alan Parsons and Glyn Johns at 60th anniversary lunch

UK: The APRS (Association of Professional Recording Services) has announced that it is to honour a number of renowned individuals with Sound Fellowships in recognition of their contributions to "the art, science and industry of sound recording". Island Records founder Chris Blackwell and producer/engineer/performer Alan Parsons will be among the distinguished figures honoured at the APRS' 60th anniversary lunch this Thursday (September 27th), writes David Davies.

APRS Sound Fellowship lunch raises the roof

UK: Trevor Horn and Peter Gabriel (pictured) were among the recipients of Sound Fellowships, writes Phil Ward. The third annual APRS Sound Fellowship lunch and awards ceremony attracted top names to West London's Roof Gardens venue in Kensington on November 17.