API Awards 2012: winners announced

Some 18 different companies and individuals have been honoured by the industry in the 2012 edition of the Audio Pro International Excellence Awards, in association with PLASA 2012.
Publish date:
Updated on

Some 18 different companies and individuals have been honoured by the industry in the 2012 edition of the Audio Pro International Excellence Awards, in association with PLASA 2012. Among this year’s big winners is Harman’s Crown, who picked up the prestigious Grand Prix Award for its 65 years of service to the industry, while live engineer Phil Gornell has picked up the brand new Rising Star of 2012 Award. Meanwhile, Audio Pro International columnist and broadcast veteran Toby Alington was named Broadcast Engineer of the Year. It’s also been a good year for Digico, picking up two awards for Live After Sales Service and New Broadcast Product for its UB-MADI, while the New Live Product gong went to Allen & Heath for its GLD-80 mixing system. The full list of winners is as follows: LIVE New Live Product: Allen & Heath GLD-80 Live Engineer of the Year: Dave Swallow Live After Sales Service: Digico Live Marketing Team of the Year: Adamson INSTALLATION New Installation Product: L-Acoustics ARCS Wide Installation Engineer of the Year: Vangelis Satrazanidis Installation After Sales Service: d&b audiotechnik Installation Marketing Team of the Year: Clear-Com STUDIO New Studio Product: Pro Tools HDX Studio Engineer of the Year: Marcella Araica Studio After Sales Service: DPA Microphones Studio Marketing Team of the Year: Audio-Technica BROADCAST New Broadcast Product: Digico UB-MADI Broadcast Engineer of the Year: Toby Alington Broadcast After Sales Service: HHB Communications Broadcast Marketing Team of the Year: HHB Communications Rising Star of 2012: Phil Gornell GRAND PRIX: Crown – 65th Anniversary "The volume of nominations received for this year's Audio Pro International Awards was incredible," said editor Daniel Gumble. "We'd like to congratulate all of this year's winners and to thank PLASA 2012 for its sponsorship of the awards."www.audioprointernational.com



MPG announces 2012 Awards shortlist

Scheduled to take place at the Café De Paris, London, on 16 February, the 2012 MPG Awards will recognise the enormous contribution made by recording professionals to the success of the UK’s music industry.


2012: the year in review

It’s year end, and time to look back. What will 2012 be remembered for, apart from that big sporting event, and Her Majesty throwing a bit of party?


MPG announces date for 2012 Awards

The Café de Paris will again play host to the Music Producers Guild Awards, the 2012 edition of which is set to take place on Thursday 16 February. A total of 16 categories includes the PSNE co-sponsored Unsung Hero.


APRS announces 2012 Sound Fellows

David Gilmour and Pete Townshend are among the recipients to be honoured on 20 November. AIM CEO Alison Wenham will give the special Harewood Toast, while the President's Toast will be delivered by record producer Joe Boyd.


New categories for MPG Awards 2012

Following on from a highly successful third event in February (where winners included Tony Visconti, pictured), the Music Producers Guild (MPG) has announced the introduction of two new categories for the 2012 edition.


MPG Awards 2012 nominations open

Following on from a 2011 edition that brought gongs for leading figures including Markus Dravs (pictured), the nominations process for next year’s MPG Awards is now underway. With two new additions in the international section, the event now features 17 categories.