Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


2013 IABM Engineering Student Awards winners announced

The IABM-sponsored awards recognises high-achieving college students in broadcast engineering or media technology and offers each winner full financial support for attendance at IBC2013.

The International Association of Broadcasting Manufacturers (IABM) has announced the winners of the 2013 IABM Engineering Student Awards (last year’s awards winners pictured).
Each award winner will receive funding to cover travel, accommodation, and daily expenses for a five-day trip to Amsterdam and registration to attend the IBC2013 conference and exhibition, taking place on 12-17 September in Amsterdam. This year’s winners are Zoe Wyeth of the University of Salford, Julian Theis of the RheinMain University of Applied Sciences, Adam Plowden and Amy Tinker of Kingston University, Pierre Hamme-Gerome and Antonin Morel of the Université de Valenciennes, Kathryn Savage of Southampton Solent University, Lennard Bredenkamp of HTWK Leipzig, and Evgenii Smirnov and Anna Nikolaeva of St. Petersburg State University of Film and Television. The awards programme is open to any student undertaking a full-time course of study directly related to broadcast engineering and media technology. This year’s winners were selected based on a 500-word essay explaining how the student would be able to benefit from attending IBC2013. “I am very proud of winning an IABM Engineering Student Award, which presents a student like me with a unique opportunity to attend the IBC show,” said Pierre Hamme-Gerome. “In Amsterdam I will have the chance to meet some of the most influential people from the broadcast world, to network with professionals and other students, and to discover the latest media technologies for myself.” “While the individual winners gain a significant personal benefit, the awards programme itself promotes the sector and encourages others to gain the knowledge and skills necessary to pursue the exciting career opportunities available,” added Roger Crumpton, a founding director and trustee of the IABM Educational Foundation which funds the programme. ”In this sense, the programme benefits not only the 10 winners named today, but the field as a whole.”