News Business

Three audio stalwarts in contention for 2009 Gottelier Award

test 8 September 2009

UK: Soundcraft’s Graham Blyth is in the running for the Gottelier Award, which was won last year by DiGiCo’s John Stadius (pictured), writes David Davies. Midas/Klark Teknik technical guru Alex Cooper and L-Acoustics line array pioneer Dr Christian Heil are also part of a seven-strong field for the award, which recognises significant contributions to the advancement of professional AV technology.

Named in honour of the late designer and commentator Tony Gottelier, the Gottelier Award has already acknowledged several leading pro-audio names, including Funktion One’s Tony Andrews and DiGiCo’s John Stadius (pictured here picking up his award from Gottelier’s wife, Sue, in 2008).

Having established Soundcraft with Phil Dudderidge back in 1973, Graham Blyth has gone on to devise or co-devise nearly all of the company’s products, including the first flightcased touring desk, Spirit 1, and today’s Vi and Si Series digital consoles.

As head of R&D for Klark Teknik/Midas, Alex Cooper has designed or had significant input into the Midas Heritage 3000, XL4 and XL8 consoles, among many other products.

With his introduction of the L-Acoustics V-DOSC line array system in the mid 1990s, Dr Christian Heil ushered in a significant new era in live sound technology. Over the years, Heil and L-Acoustics have further developed the line array concept, most recently in the form of the K1 system.

The other nominees for this year’s Gottelier Award are closely identified with the world of lighting technology: Flying Pig co-founder Nick Archdale, show lighting innovator Jim Bornhorst, Artistic Licence founder Wayne Howell, and Clay Paky president/MD Pasquale Quadri.

"It’s really encouraging to see such a strong line-up of industry innovators in this year’s Gottelier Awards, which is testament to the growing importance of the Award itself and the industry’s wish to recognise those who work at the leading edge," PLASA MD Matthew Griffiths tells PSN-e.

The Gottelier Award will be presented during the PLASA Innovation Awards, which take place during PLASA09 on Monday September 14. The Innovation Awards will be presented by Adam Afriyie MP, the Shadow Minister for Innovation, Universities and Skills.

Web »


Similar stories