News Business
news business

MPG UK reveals album award shortlist

David Davies 23 December 2010

After Dizzee Rascal’s victory in the category last time, The Coral, Mumford and Sons, and Robert Plant and the Band of Joy will compete for the UK Album of the Year Award at the next edition of the MPG Awards.

The shortlist for the UK Album of the Year Award is the last to be revealed for the next MPG Awards event; the MPG says that the category attracted so many nominees that the decision had to go to a second vote in order to ‘maintain voting integrity’.

The final shortlist echoes the current resurgence in acoustically-oriented and roots music. The Coral evoke pastoral English psychedelia and Laurel Canyon reverie in fairly equal measure on the John Leckie-produced Butterfly House. The latest product from a London folk scene revival that has also yielded Laura Marling and Noah and the Whale, Mumford & Sons have won international acclaim for their debut long-player, Sigh No More. Finally, having linked up with Alison Krauss and T Bone Burnett for his last project, Robert Plant has surrounded himself with another quality close-knit team of American roots musicians – including singer Patty Griffin and co-producer/guitarist Buddy Miller – for dynamic covers set Band of Joy.

In addition to revealing the UK Album of the Year shortlist, the MPG has also announced some last minute changes to other categories to ensure that those shortlisted are in the correct category and that their work falls within the qualifying period. The full list is as follows:

Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BPI BRITS 2011:
Markus Dravs
Ethan Johns
John Leckie
Mike Pela
Stuart Price

Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Prism Sound:
Phil Brown
Matt Lawrence
Tony Platt

Mix Engineer of the Year:
Mark Rankin
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent
Cenzo Townsend

Mastering Engineer of the Year, sponsored by SADiE
John Davis
Ray Staff
Tim Young

Live Album/DVD of the year, sponsored by Shure:
Electric Proms
iTunes Sessions
The Who – Live At Leeds

UK Single of the Year 2010
Mumford & Sons – ‘The Cave’
Paloma Faith – ‘Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful?’
Plan B – ‘She Said’

UK Album of the Year 2010:
The Coral – Butterfly House
Mumford and Sons – Sigh No More
Robert Plant and The Band of Joy – Band of Joy

Re-mixer of the Year:
Simon Gogerly
James Rutledge

The Joe Meek Award for Innovation in Production, sponsored by Joe Meek International:
Trevor Horn
Tony Visconti

Breakthrough Producer of the Year, sponsored by Deep Recording Studios:
Eliot James
Labrinth (Timothy McKenzie)
Starsmith (Finlay Dow-Smith)

Breakthrough Engineer of the Year:
Jake Jackson
Stevan Krakovic
Andy Savours

Best Studio, sponsored by Robertson Taylor:
AIR Studios
Livingston Studios

International Producer of the Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios:
The Black Keys
T-Bone Burnett
Daniel Lanois

As previously announced, Mute record label founder Daniel Miller will received the PPL-sponsored Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award. The final award – for Unsung Hero – has been voted for by readers of Pro Sound News Europe readers, the MPG’s media partner for the event.

The MPG Awards 2011 will take place at Floridita, London, on 9 February. Tickets for the Music Producers Guild Awards are now on sale from Sadie Groom at Bubble & Squeak: +44 (0) 01442 877 850; There are also a number of sponsorship opportunities available and anyone interested should contact Sadie Groom.

Similar stories