News Installation

MPG (UK) not inclined to ‘forget about Dre’

test 25 December 2008

The hip hop legend is one of the Music Producers Guild’s top five producers of all time, writes David Davies. The MPG (UK) has compiled a list of the 50 greatest ever producers to mark its inaugural Awards ceremony in February, tickets for which are now on sale.

While acknowledging the difficulties of compiling this kind of chart, the MPG has – “for the sake of argument” – identified a top five of producers “based on creativity, the breadth of talent they have worked with, their impact on the charts and the distinctive sound they bring to an artist’s work.” The remainder of the list is presented in alphabetical list.

In addition to Dr Dre – whose credits include Eminem, 50 Cent and Mary J Blige – the MPG’s high table of production also finds room for Robert John ‘Mutt’ Lange (AC/DC, Def Leppard), Quincy Jones (Michael Jackson, Sarah Vaughan), Chris Thomas (Bryan Ferry, John Cale), and the late John Hammond (Billie Holiday, Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen).

The long list will appear in full at the MPG website (link below), but includes such notables as Brian Eno, John Leckie, Nellee Hooper, George Martin, Phil Spector, Neptunes and Nile Rogers, alongside the sadly departed Martin Hannett, Teo Macero, Arif Mardin and Jerry Wexler (the last-named was the subject of a recent PSN-e obituary that can be read here).

In other news, the MPG has announced that tickets are now on sale for its first-ever Awards event, which will take place at London’s Caf_ de Paris (pictured) on February 12th. Tickets cost _100 plus VAT for MPG members, and _140 plus VAT for non-MPG members. An ‘early bird discount’ is available, reducing the cost to _85 and _125 plus VAT, respectively.

Tickets can be reserved by telephoning +44 (0)207 287 4655 or emailing

The inaugural Music Producers Guild Awards event has attracted some high-profile sponsors, namely Prism Sound, The Brits, Digidesign, Shure, Deep Recording Studios, TL Audio and RAK Studios. Pro Sound News Europe is the official media partner for the event.

Web »

Similar stories