News Business
news business

MPG Awards highlights UK industry creativity

David Davies 15 February 2011
MPG Awards highlights UK industry creativity

Markus Dravs (pictured left), Daniel Miller and Tony Visconti were among the winners at last week’s MPG Awards as the UK recording industry sought to overcome what MPG director Tony Platt termed its in-built “self-deprecatory” tendencies and celebrate another 12 months of excellence.

Now in its third year, the Music Producers Guild (UK) Awards has rapidly become a staple of the annual music industry calendar. Taking place this year at Cafe de Paris, London, the event bestowed awards upon producers and engineers considered to have achieved excellence throughout the last 12 months.

Alison Goldfrapp, Gary Numan and two members of The Coral were among the artists who presented trophies at this year’s MPG Awards, in the process acknowledging their awareness of the vital contribution made by the UK’s producers, engineers and studio teams.

Although the UK industry has traditionally had a "self-deprecatory" approach to celebrating its own achievements – a point emphasised by engineer/producer and MPG director Tony Platt during his time at the podium – there was no mistaking the celebratory mood to this third MPG Awards night.

The top award for Producer of the Year – which also earned its winner a BRIT Award for Best Producer – went to Markus Dravs, who was nominated for his work as producer on Mumford & Sons’ album, Sigh No More, and his co-production work alongside the band on Arcade Fire’s album, The Suburbs. Dravs was presented with both his Music Producers Guild and BRIT awards by Chris Martin from Coldplay, whose forthcoming studio album he is currently working on.

UK Album of the Year went to The Coral’s Butterfly House, produced by John Leckie. Tony Visconti – whose many studio credits include David Bowie, T-Rex and Morrissey – received the Joe Meek Award for Innovation in Production, while Mute Record founder Daniel Miller collected the Outstanding Contribution to UK Music trophy. (To download the Digital Edition of January’s PSNE, containing an interview with Miller, visit

Steve Levine, chairman of the Music Producers Guild, commented: “We had many more nominations this year and the calibre and array of genres represented by the nominees was incredibly high. These awards mean a great deal to the UK’s professional recording community because they know they are being judged by their peers. Audio professionals are positioned at the very heart of the music industry – we guide the artistic creation that is the lifeblood of our industry. We are delighted that, once again, we have been able to highlight their remarkable achievements before such an extensive and illustrious audience.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

Producer of the Year – sponsored by the BPI: Markus Dravs
Shortlist: Ethan Johns, John Leckie, Mike Pela, Stuart Price

Recording Engineer of the Year – sponsored by Prism Sound: Guy Massey
Shortlist: Phil Brown, Matt Lawrence, Tony Platt

Mix Engineer of the Year – sponsored by Solid State Logic: Mark ‘Spike’ Stent
Shortlist: Mark Rankin, Cenzo Townshend

Mastering Engineer of the Year – sponsored by SADiE: Tim Young
Shortlist: John Davis, Ray Staff

International Producer of the Year – sponsored by British Grove Studios: Daniel Lanois
Shortlist: T-Bone Burnett

Live Album of the Year – sponsored by Shure: BBC Electric Proms 2009
Shortlist: Il Divo – An Evening in Barcelona, Take That – Greatest Day

UK Album of the Year (10) – sponsored by Focusrite: The Coral – Butterfly House
Shortlist: Mumford and Sons – Sigh No More, Robert Plant and The Band of Joy – Band of Joy

UK Single of the Year (10) – sponsored by PMC : Plan B – She Said
Shortlist: Mumford & Sons – The Cave, Paloma Faith – Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful?

The Joe Meek Award for Innovation In Production – sponsored by Joe Meek International: Tony Visconti
Shortlist: Bjork, Trevor Horn

Re-mixer of the Year– sponsored by Novation: James Rutledge
Shortlist: Freemasons, Simon Gogerly

Breakthrough Producer of the Year – sponsored by Deep Recording Studios: Eliot James
Shortlist: Labrinth (Timothy McKenzie), Starsmith (Finlay Dow-Smith)

Breakthrough Engineer of the Year – sponsored by Genelec: Jake Jackson
Shortlist: Stevan Krakovic, Andy Savours

Studio of the Year– sponsored by Music Week: Air Studios
Shortlist: Livingston Studios, Metropolis, Strongroom

Outstanding Contribution to UK Music – sponsored by PPL: Daniel Miller

Unsung Hero – sponsored by Pro Sound News Europe: Adam Sieff

Similar stories