News Installation

Epworth, Lillywhite, Rubin in running for MPG Awards

test 8 December 2009

UK: The Music Producers Guild (UK) has issued the much-anticipated shortlist for its 2010 Awards, reports David Davies. Following an industry-wide nominations process, the shortlist devised by full MPG members will be put before a final judging panel ahead of the Awards night, which is scheduled to take place at London's Cafe de Paris on February 11.

Inevitably, much attention will be attached to the BPI BRITS 2010-sponsored Producer of the Year Award – the recipient of which will also receive the BRIT Award for Best Producer. In a characteristically strong field, the nominees are Jim Abbiss, Paul Epworth (pictured here with fellow 2009 MPG Awards winner Brian Eno), Ethan Johns and Steve Lillywhite.

Other key categories include the Prism Sound-sponsored Recording Engineer of the Year, which features a shortlist of Haydn Bendall, Mick Glossop and Tony Platt; the Avid-sponsored Best Mix Engineer, where the nominees are Flood (Mark Ellis), Mark 'Spike' Stent and Cenzo Townsend; and the SADiE-sponsored Best Mastering Engineer, which sports a line-up of Tony Cousins, Ray Staff and Tim Young.

The Focusrite-sponsored Best International Producer of the Year category also features a trio of veritable studio luminaries – namely T-Bone Burnett, Brendan O'Brien and Rick Rubin. As previously announced on PSN-e, the Joe Meek Award for Innovation in Production will be bestowed posthumously on the great innovator and musician Les Paul.

The two Breakthrough Awards also feature impressive shortlists: Carl Bown, Jason Boshoff and Paul Savage in the Deep Recording Studios-sponsored Producer category; Mark Rankin, Jimmy Roberston and Paul Savage (again!) in the TL Audio-sponsored Engineer category.

AIR Lyndhurst, British Grove, Kore and Livingston are in contention for the Robertson Taylor-sponsored Best Studio Award, while Florence in the Machine scores two nominations in the more purely musically-oriented categories (UK Album of the Year, UK Single of the Year).

Nominations for the Outstanding Contribution to UK Music (sponsored by PPL) will be revealed shortly, while voting is ongoing for the Alchemea/Pro Sound News Europe -sponsored Unsung Hero Award. To register your vote in the latter category, click here; the closing date is December 18.

Tickets for the Music Producers Guild Awards are now on sale at a cost of £80 plus VAT for balcony standing tickets and £105 plus VAT for balcony seated tickets. An early bird discount is available, reducing the cost to £60 and £85 plus VAT, respectively.


Similar stories