News Broadcast
news broadcast

Conch Awards return to recognise TV audio

Kevin Hilton 26 September 2012
Conch Awards return to recognise TV audio

The Conch Awards returned last week, recognising outstanding achievement in UK audio post-production for television, film and commercials. Among the winners at the ceremony in the Mayfair Hotel in London were TV sound recordist Paul Paragon, post house Envy and BBC music show Later.. with Jools Holland. First held in 2006, the Conch Awards did not take place in 2011, when ownership of the event passed from trade association UK Screen to media group EMAP. The annual ceremony was originally scheduled to take place on 30 May this year but it was put back and staged during its usual slot of September. Sound for film and commercials is a major part of the Conchs but sound in TV broadcast continues to be a dominant element. This year Scott Jones of Molinare won the TV Dubbing Mixer of the Year Award, while his colleague Tony Gibson was the winner in the TV Sound Editor of the Year category. Paul Paragon (pictured) of Auraline Sound Engineering was named TV Sound Recordist in an award sponsored by Conch debutants Sennheiser. Paragon submitted a show reel of material featuring classical music and current affairs and said he wanted to "thank people for letting me into their dangerous world". Presumably he meant that comment for those in current affairs. The British-American co-produced action-espionage series Strike Back – Project Dawn won in the Audio on TV (Drama) section, Audio on TV (Entertainment) went to Conch regular Later… with Jools Holland, while the film Senna took the best TV/Film Documentary Audio slot. Wave Studios became Commercial/Promo Facility of the Year, with Envy Post Production named TV Mix Facility, a category sponsored by Scrub. The Award was accepted by dubbing mixers Ross Millership and Andy Hodges, who commented, "We’ve [Envy] grown and grown over the past six years, maintaining our high standard throughout our mix studios, so this award is a much welcomed recognition of achievement for us." In the People category Soho Square Studios sound engineer Adam Smyth was named Most Promising Newcomer (see feature), while industry veteran Dennis Weinreich was recognised with the Outstanding Contribution Award.

Similar stories