News Business

APRS Sound Fellowship lunch raises the roof

test 24 November 2009

UK: Trevor Horn and Peter Gabriel (pictured) were among the recipients of Sound Fellowships, writes Phil Ward. The third annual APRS Sound Fellowship lunch and awards ceremony attracted top names to West London’s Roof Gardens venue in Kensington on November 17.

The Sound Fellowships were inaugurated in 2007 to mark the 60th anniversary of the APRS and to recognise excellence and achievement within the recording industry.

Sir George and Giles Martin bestowed the awards in an atmosphere of conviviality and pride, while Jeremy Lascelles of Chrysalis Music followed his keynote speech by proposing ‘the Harewood toast’ in honour of his father and original APRS president, the Earl of Harewood.

"Jeremy was very vociferous about the value of the recording studio and the process of getting the music to the people," says APRS executive director Peter Filleul, who suggests that future Harewood toasters are likely to be selected in response to "current activities and issues" across the industry.

Alongside Horn and Gabriel, other Fellowship recipients were producer Robin Millar – in eloquent form as he outlined his raison d’etre in the studio – and Dave Harries, the veteran of Abbey Road, Air, Decca and British Grove studios who received the Lifetime Achievement honour and was hailed as "a very great friend" by Sir George Martin. (Coincidentally, Harries is also a nominee for the 2010 MPG (UK) Award for Unsung Hero, sponsored by Pro Sound News Europe and Alchemea. To see the full list of nominees and register your vote, please click here). Video messages were sent from absentee fellows Bob Clearmountain, Steve Lillywhite and Focusrite’s Phil Dudderidge.

"People tend to forget the fact that the studios make 90% of the catalogue material that keeps the music business afloat," says Peter Filleul. "We are seeing a fresh realisation of the value of the professional recording sector having the skills, expertise and equipment to produce consistently top quality recordings. Our recipients this year are testament not only to production creativity but also their entrepreneurial courage and commitment to technological and commercial innovation."

Image Credit: Phil Ward


Similar stories